My interpretation of “Farewell”

2 Feb

 

I’m sorry to say

That today is the day

That boy looks up at me

From your spirited legs

 

I look back and see

Those eyes just like mine

I look back at you

And his face is sublime

 

I’m sorry my dear

The end is right here

I cannot wait

For I must be leaving today

 

His hands are like yours

His face strong like mines

And if I stay I fear

That one day he’ll cause tears in your eyes

 

I do not want him

I do not want to make this choice

Mariners are no dads

And they have no voice

 

I like the love of my kind

Leaving without saying goodbye

A women on every port

Waiting for us to report.

 

But sadly we never come back

And she stays here

Harboring fears

With tears

2 Responses to “My interpretation of “Farewell””

  1. slpmartin February 2, 2010 at 6:15 PM #

    Makes me think about Waiting For Godot…but without the tears. Some definitions seem universal.

    Like

  2. frenchfwries February 2, 2010 at 6:28 PM #

    oh yes, i saw Waiting for Godot, you’re right, it is much like it. True, the one thing i like about this poem is how universal it is actually. Thanks for the comment 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

